斯科特和州卫生官员敦促自我保健和登记

佛蒙特州州长菲尔·斯科特与高级卫生官员一起敦促佛蒙特州人互相检查并照顾自己的心理健康。 评论承认自杀预防意识月以及所有佛蒙特州人在预防自杀死亡方面可以发挥的日常作用。

“不可否认,生活在 Covid 19 中的压力增加了许多与自杀相关的风险因素,包括抑郁、社会孤立、经济压力、失业和心理健康挑战,”斯科特州长 14 月 XNUMX 日说。佛蒙特州的每一次自杀都会产生可怕的影响,我们每个人都必须尽我们所能防止这些损失。 自杀预防宣传月提醒我们可以采取所有行动来帮助有需要的人。”

自杀是佛蒙特州人的第八大死因。

与全县其他州一样,佛蒙特州的心理健康挑战有所增加,与大流行相关的压力源和不确定性无疑加剧了这种挑战。 州长说,该州最脆弱的人群面临的风险最大。 这包括青年、老年人、居住在农村地区的人以及那些被认定为 LGBTQ+ 或 BIOCC 的人。 “我鼓励佛蒙特州人团结起来,互相支持,支持你们生活中可能正在挣扎的人们,”斯科特说。  

“了解更多有关意识以及如何与您认为可能处于危险之中的人交谈的信息。 询问他们是否还好并提供帮助。”

~ 佛蒙特州州长菲尔斯科特,在 14 月 XNUMX 日的每周新闻发布会上

自杀是一个公共卫生问题

公共服务局局长迈克史密斯说,过去几年,州政府机构一直与社区合作伙伴密切合作,以扩大和改善基层支持,以防止自杀。 

“自杀不仅仅是一个心理健康问题。 这也是一个公共卫生问题,”他在新闻发布会上说。 “自杀的原因很复杂,需要多管齐下才能产生影响。” 他指出了该州精神健康整合委员会的工作,该委员会旨在将精神保健整合到现有的护理系统中,“以便每个佛蒙特州人都能在正确的时间得到正确水平和正确类型的护理”。 

负责心理健康的副卫生专员艾莉森·克罗普夫 (Alison Krompf) 强调了朋友和家人在预防自杀方面的重要作用。 “我们每天都有责任解决这个影响我们家庭和社区的重要问题,”她说。 “伸出援手、保持联系并相互了解——所有这些都是我们可以帮助减轻那些有自杀意念的人经常感受到的负担的方式。 当你伸出手去检查别人时,它实际上也改善了你自己的心理健康。”

“通过解决寻求帮助的耻辱感、改善我们的护理系统和不加判断地倾听,我们作为佛蒙特州人可以团结起来建立弹性并相互支持。”

~ Alison Krompf,佛蒙特州精神卫生副专员

Krompf 副专员分享了一些我们都可以做的简单事情。 “学习如何以健康的方式管理压力可以让你和你关心的人,以及你的社区变得更强大,”她说。 

  • 花时间学习 关于自杀风险的迹象,以及您可以做什么。 资源喜欢 #Bethe1to 提供简单的指导方针来支持其他有困难的人。 (见图片。)
  • 参观佛蒙特州自杀预防中心 在 www.vtspc.org 上获取定制的本地资源和活动。
  • 支持您自己的心理健康. 花点时间检查一下自己,问问你感觉如何。 与情绪保持联系有助于改善情绪和降低焦虑。
  • 实践自我保健 帮助您应对日常压力,并为压力情况做好更好的准备。

“我们鼓励所有佛蒙特州人在接下来的几天里花时间询问他们的朋友、家人和其他人的幸福,并以他们认为合适的任何方式真诚地表达他们对彼此的感激之情,”Krompf 补充道。 . “一个简单的电话,一条消息,可以大大帮助人们意识到自杀不是答案。” 

阅读更多并查找资源

我们可以谈谈吗 自杀?” 有更多关于该说什么和不该说的内容。

与你交谈 儿童关于心理健康”有儿童自杀预防专家的指导。

健康在预防自杀中的作用”有更多关于积极精神病学如何降低自杀风险的信息。 

点击 佛蒙特州自杀 预防 Center 获取特定于佛蒙特州的当地活动和信息。

查找有关自杀预防、警告信号以及如何帮助遭受情绪痛苦的人的更多信息 国家心理健康研究所的自杀预防页面.

订阅 COVIDSupportVT 博客

输入您的电子邮件地址以订阅以通过电子邮件接收新博客文章的通知。


需要谈谈?

致电 2-1-1(选项 #2)或 866-652-4636(选项 #2),获得免费、保密的一对一咨询。 我们的支持顾问周一至周五提供服务。 

危机中? 

如果您或您关心的人有自杀或自残的想法,您可以: 拨打全国预防自杀热线 1-800-273-825; 发送 VT 至 741741 与危机顾问 24/7 联系; 与连接 您当地的社区心理健康中心 24/7 全天候支持。 

查找帮助

寻找应对压力的资源和工具 www.COVIDSupportVT.org. 关注 COVID 支持 VT Twitter, Facebook 以及 Instagram. 并保持最新,注册我们的 通讯 以及 新闻.

了解即将到来的 健康工作坊 来自 COVID Support VT,以及 市政厅 我们与社区组织合作举办。

一键翻译至 100 种语言 COVIDSupportVT.org 网站,加上 多语言资源 可下载的材料以佛蒙特州新美国移民和难民社区常用的 10 种语言提供。 

通过访问找到您当地的社区心理健康中心 佛蒙特州护理合作伙伴.

COVID Support VT 由药物滥用和心理健康服务管理局和联邦紧急事务管理局资助,由佛蒙特州心理健康部管理,并由 佛蒙特州护理合作伙伴,一个由 16 个非营利社区机构组成的全州网络,提供心理健康、药物使用以及智力和发育障碍服务和支持。 

分享本页面

Scott and State Health Officials Urge Self-Care, Check-Ins

Vermont Governor Phil Scott joined top health officials in urging Vermonters to check in with one another and take care of their own mental health. The comments acknowledged Suicide Prevention Awareness Month and the every-day role all Vermonters can play in preventing death by suicide.

“There’s no denying that the stress of living through Covid 19 has increased many of the risk factors associated with suicide, including depression, social isolation, financial stress, unemployment, and challenges to mental health,” Gov. Scott said Sept. 14. “Every suicide in Vermont has a terrible impact and we must each do what we can to prevent these losses. Suicide Prevention Awareness Month is a reminder of all the actions we can take to help those in need.”

Suicide is the eighth leading cause of death among Vermonters.

Vermont, like other states across the county, has seen an increase in mental health challenges that is undoubtedly exacerbated by pandemic-related stressors and uncertainties. The state’s most vulnerable populations are most at risk, the governor said. That includes youth, older adults, those who live in rural areas, and those who identify as LGBTQ+ or BIPOC. “I encourage Vermonters to come together to support each other and the people in your lives who may be struggling,” Scott said.  

“Learn more about awareness and how to talk with someone you think may be at risk. Ask if they’re okay and offer to help.”

~ Vermont Governor Phil Scott, at the weekly press conference Sept. 14

Suicide is a Public Health Issue

Secretary Mike Smith of the Agency of Human Services said state agencies have been working closely with community partners over the past several years to expand and improve grassroots supports to prevent suicide. 

“Suicide is not just a mental health issue. It is also a public health issue,” he said at the press conference. “The cause of suicide is complex, and requires a multi-pronged approach to make an impact.” He pointed to the work of the state’s Mental Health Integration Council, which seeks to integrate mental healthcare into the existing system of care “so that every Vermonter is supported by the right level and the right type of care at the right time.” 

Alison Krompf, the deputy health commissioner for mental health, underscored the important role of friends and family in preventing suicide. “We all have a role every day to address this important issue impacting our families and our communities,” she said. “Reaching out, staying connected, and checking in with one another — all of these are ways we can help alleviate the burden often felt by those experiencing suicide ideation. And when you reach out to check in on others, it actually improves your own mental health as well.”

“By addressing the stigma around asking for help, improving our care systems, and listening without judgment, we as Vermonters can come together to build resiliency and support one another.”

~ Alison Krompf, Deputy Commissioner of Mental Health, State of Vermont

Deputy Commissioner Krompf shared a few simple things we can all do. “Learning how to manage stress in healthy ways can make you and the people you care about, as well as your community, stronger,” she said. 

  • Take time to learn about the signs of suicide risk, and what you can do. Resources like #Bethe1to provide simple guidelines for supporting others who are struggling. (See image.)
  • Visit the Vermont Suicide Prevention Center at www.vtspc.org for customized local resources and events.
  • Support your own mental health. Take time to check in with yourself, ask how you’re feeling. Staying in touch with your emotions can help improve mood and lower anxiety.
  • Practice self-care to help you cope with everyday stress and be better prepared for stressful situations.

“We encourage all Vermonters to take the time to inquire as to the well-being of their friends, family and others over the next few days, and to genuinely convey their appreciation for each other in any way that they deem appropriate,” Krompf added. “A simple phone call, a message, can go a long way toward helping someone realize that suicide is not the answer.” 

Read More and Find Resources

Can We Talk About Suicide?” has more on what to say and what not to say.

Talking to Your Children About Mental Health” has guidance from a children’s suicide prevention specialist.

The Role of Wellness in Suicide Prevention” has more on how positive psychiatry can reduce suicide risk. 

Visit the Vermont Suicide Prevention Center for local events and information specific to Vermont.

Find more about suicide prevention, warning signs, and how to help someone in emotional pain at the National Institute of Mental Health’s Suicide Prevention page.

Subscribe to COVIDSupportVT Blog

Enter your email address to subscribe to receive notifications of new blog posts by email.


Need to Talk?

Call 2-1-1 (option #2) or 866-652-4636 (option #2) for free, confidential, one-on-one counseling. Our Support Counselors are available Monday – Friday. 

In Crisis? 

If you or someone you care for is experiencing thoughts of suicide or self-harm, you can: call the National Suicide Prevention Hotline at 1-800-273-825; text VT to 741741 to connect with a Crisis Counselor 24/7; connect with your local community mental health center for 24/7 support. 

Find Help

Find resources and tools for coping with stress at www.COVIDSupportVT.org. Follow COVID Support VT on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram. And to stay up-to-date, sign up for our newsletter and blog.

Learn about upcoming Wellness Workshops from COVID Support VT, and Town Halls we’re hosting in partnership with community organizations.

One-click translation to 100 languages of most everything on the COVIDSupportVT.org website, plus Multilingual Resources & downloadable materials in 10 languages common to Vermont’s New American immigrant and refugee communities. 

Find your local community mental health center by visiting Vermont Care Partners.

COVID Support VT is funded by the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration and Federal Emergency Management Agency, managed by Vermont’s Department of Mental Health, and administered by Vermont Care Partners, a statewide network of 16 non-profit community-based agencies providing mental health, substance use, and intellectual and developmental disability services and supports. 

Share This