يوضح أفضل الخبراء 4 خطوات للتخفيف من المضاعفات طويلة المدى

أدى جائحة الفيروس التاجي والاضطرابات الاجتماعية والاقتصادية الناتجة عنه إلى أزمة صحية عقلية ذات أبعاد غير مسبوقة. ويشعر العديد من الخبراء بالقلق من أن الأمور ستزداد سوءًا قبل أن تتحسن. لقد حان الوقت الآن لاتخاذ إجراءات ، كما يقولون ، للتخفيف من الاحتمالية طويلة المدى لأعراض الصحة العقلية ، سواء على المستوى الفردي أو على مستوى السكان.

جوشوا جوردون ، مدير المعهد الوطني للصحة العقلية ، كرر هذه الرسالة في خطابه الرئيسي الشهر الماضي في NAMICon ، مؤتمر الصحة العقلية. لقد وضع أربع خطوات عملية ستكون حاسمة لوقف التسونامي المخيف من مشاكل الصحة العقلية. 

  1. تلبية الاحتياجات الفورية من أجل البقاء ، بما في ذلك الغذاء والمأوى والملبس والمعيشة الاقتصادية.
  2. مارس استراتيجيات التأقلم الصحية، بما في ذلك أخذ فترات راحة عند الضرورة.
  3. عالج الأعراض الجديدة أو المتفاقمة من تحديات الصحة العقلية.
  4. ابحث عن طرق لمساعدة الآخرين ، التي تعزز الشعور بالكفاءة الذاتية والترابط الاجتماعي.

تفاقم التفاوتات الاجتماعية من تحديات الصحة العقلية

أشار جوردون إلى تاريخ أبحاث الأزمات ، والذي يظهر أن أعراض الصحة العقلية تتحسن مع مرور الوقت لدى معظم الناس. ومع ذلك ، فإن أقلية كبيرة تعاني من أعراض مزمنة أو طويلة الأمد. تؤدي عدم المساواة الاجتماعية إلى تفاقم الاختلافات بين أولئك الذين يتعافون والذين لا يتعافون. وقال إن الأكثر ضعفاً هم أولئك الذين يعانون من أسوأ الأعراض في المراحل المبكرة.

وقال إن هذا سبب يدعو للقلق ، بالنظر إلى أنه في وقت مبكر من الوباء في يونيو 2020 ، أفاد ما يقرب من 40 في المائة من البالغين الأمريكيين بأنهم يعانون من أعراض الصحة العقلية. القلق والاكتئاب يقودان العبوة. الاكتئاب ، على وجه الخصوص ، هو عامل خطر رئيسي للانتحار ، ويراقب الخبراء عن كثب أي ارتفاع في حالات الانتحار.

قال جوردون إنه في "أخبار جيدة نسبيًا" ، لا يبدو أن معدلات الانتحار في عام 2020 تتأثر بالوباء. ومع ذلك ، أشار إلى أن هذا ليس هو الحال في جميع السكان. على سبيل المثال ، زادت حالات الانتحار بشكل حاد في الذكور السود الشباب. 

"الآثار السلبية للوباء لا يشعر بها المجتمع بشكل متساوٍ ، وهذا هو الحال بالنسبة للانتحار أيضًا."

~ جوشوا جوردون ، مدير المعهد الوطني للصحة العقلية

برمجة مجانية لجميع Vermonters

تهدف برامج COVID Support VT ، المجانية لجميع فيرمونترز ، إلى الوصول إلى أولئك المعرضين لخطر تحديات الصحة العقلية المرتبطة بالوباء. COVID Support VT يعمل بالتنسيق مع نظام الصحة العقلية الحالي للولاية الخاص بوكالات الصحة العقلية المجتمعية عبر Vermont Care Partners (VCP). تشمل البرمجة الحالية العديد من جوانب دعم الصحة العقلية.

  • جلسات مجانية وسرية فردية مع مستشاري الدعم (عبر نظام Vermont's 2-1-1 ، الخيار رقم 2). يتم تدريب المستشارين بشكل خاص لتقديم الدعم العاطفي ، واستراتيجيات العافية والرعاية الذاتية ، والاتصال بموارد المجتمع.
  • يتوفر الآن مستشاري دعم COVID Support VT عبر الدردشة عبر الإنترنت على موقع ويب COVIDSupportVT.org. ما عليك سوى النقر على رمز "الدردشة معنا" في الجزء السفلي الأيمن من الشاشة.
  • ورش عمل افتراضية مجانية ومجموعات دعم في موضوعات مثل القلق من العودة ، والأبوة والأمومة ، وإرهاق الرحمة ، والعافية ، ومهارات العمل. تصفح ورش العمل لدينا هنا.
  • البرامج المجتمعية لـ BIPOC ومجتمعات الأمريكيين الجدد / اللاجئين.
  • شامل موقع الكتروني التي تعمل كبوابة لمصادر ومعلومات موثوقة تم فحصها علميًا. ترجمة بنقرة واحدة من معظم كل شيء إلى ما يقرب من 100 لغة.
  • توسيع نطاق الخدمات المجتمعية الشخصية من خلال مستشاري الدعم حيث تسمح إعادة الفتح ، بما في ذلك الوصول إلى عمال المزارع المهاجرين وسكان دار رعاية المسنين.
  • المساعدة في طلبات الخدمات الاجتماعية مثل السكن والمساعدات الغذائية.

اشترك في مدونة COVIDSupportVT

أدخل عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني للاشتراك لتلقي إشعارات منشورات المدونة الجديدة عبر البريد الإلكتروني.


نحتاج للتحدث؟

اتصل بالرقم 2-1-1 (الخيار رقم 2) أو 866-652-4636 (الخيار رقم 2) للحصول على استشارة مجانية وسرية وجها لوجه. مستشارو الدعم لدينا متاحون من الاثنين إلى الجمعة. 

في أزمة؟ 

إذا كنت أنت أو أي شخص تهتم به يعاني من أفكار الانتحار أو إيذاء النفس ، فيمكنك: الاتصال بالخط الساخن الوطني لمنع الانتحار على الرقم 1-800-273-825 ؛ أرسل VT إلى 741741 للتواصل مع مستشار الأزمات على مدار الساعة ؛ متصل مع مركز الصحة النفسية في المجتمع المحلي للحصول على دعم على مدار الساعة طوال أيام الأسبوع. 

الحصول على المساعدة

ابحث عن الموارد والأدوات للتعامل مع التوتر في www.COVIDSupportVT.org. اتبع COVID Support VT على تويتر, فيس بوك و انستجرام. ولمواكبة آخر المستجدات ، اشترك في موقعنا نشرتنا الإخبارية و المدونة.

تعرف على المستقبل ورش عمل العافية من COVID Support VT و قاعات المدينة نحن نستضيف بالشراكة مع منظمات المجتمع.

بنقرة واحدة ترجمة إلى 100 لغة لمعظم كل شيء على COVIDSupportVT.org موقع ويب زائد موارد متعددة اللغات ومواد قابلة للتنزيل بعشر لغات مشتركة بين المهاجرين واللاجئين الأمريكيين الجدد في ولاية فيرمونت. 

ابحث عن مركز الصحة النفسية المجتمعي المحلي لديك من خلال زيارة شركاء فيرمونت كير.

يتم تمويل COVID Support VT من قبل إدارة خدمات إساءة استخدام العقاقير والصحة العقلية والوكالة الفيدرالية لإدارة الطوارئ ، التي تديرها إدارة الصحة العقلية في فيرمونت ، وتدار من قبل شركاء فيرمونت كير، شبكة على مستوى الولاية مكونة من 16 وكالة مجتمعية غير ربحية تقدم خدمات الصحة العقلية وتعاطي المخدرات والإعاقة الذهنية والتنموية ودعمها. 

شارك هذا

Top Expert Outlines 4 Steps to Mitigate Long-Term Complications

The coronavirus pandemic and its resulting social and economic disruptions have fueled a mental health crisis of unprecedented proportions. And many experts are concerned that it’s going to get worse before it gets better. Now is the time to take action, they say, to mitigate the long-term potential for mental-health symptoms, both at the individual and population-wide levels.

Joshua Gordon, director of the National Institute of Mental Health, reiterated that message in his keynote address last month at NAMICon, the mental health conference. He laid out four practical steps that will be critical to stemming the feared tsunami of mental-health problems. 

  1. Meet immediate needs for survival, including food, shelter, clothing, and economic subsistence.
  2. Practice healthy coping strategies, including taking breaks when necessary.
  3. Treat new or worsening symptoms of mental health challenges.
  4. Find ways to help others, which promotes a sense of self-efficacy and social connectedness.

Social Inequities Exacerbate Mental Health Challenges

Gordon pointed to the history of crisis research, which shows that mental health symptoms improve with time in most people. A significant minority, however, go on to have chronic or long-term symptoms. Social inequities exacerbate the differences between those who recover and those who don’t. Most vulnerable, he said, are those who experience the worst symptoms in the early phases.

That’s reason for concern, he said, given that as early in the pandemic as June 2020, nearly 40 percent of American adults reported experiencing mental-health symptoms. Anxiety and depression lead the pack. Depression, in particular, is a major risk factor for suicide, and experts are closely watching for any spike in suicide cases.

In “relatively good news,” Gordon said, suicide rates in 2020 did not appear to be affected by the pandemic. However, he noted that’s not the case in all populations. In young black males, for example, suicides increased sharply. 

“The adverse impacts of the pandemic are not felt equally throughout society, and that is the case for suicide as well.”

~ Joshua Gordon, director, National Institute of Mental Health

Free Programming for All Vermonters

COVID Support VT’s programming, which is free for all Vermonters, aims to reach those at risk for pandemic-related mental health challenges. COVID Support VT works in concert with the state’s existing mental-health system of community-based mental health agencies via Vermont Care Partners (VCP). Current programming encompasses many facets of mental-health support.

  • Free, confidential one-on-one sessions with support counselors (via Vermont’s 2-1-1 system, option #2). Counselors are specially trained to provide emotional support, wellness and self-care strategies, and connection to community resources.
  • COVID Support VT Support Counselors are now available via on-line chat on the COVIDSupportVT.org website. Just click on the “Chat with Us” icon at the bottom right of your screen.
  • Free virtual workshops and support groups on topics such as re-entry anxiety, parenting, compassion fatigue, wellness, and job skills. BROWSE OUR WORKSHOPS HERE.
  • Community-partnered programs for BIPOC and New American/refugee communities.
  • A comprehensive website that serves as a gateway to authoritative, scientifically vetted resources and information. One-click translation of most everything into nearly 100 languages.
  • Expanded in-person community services by support counselors as reopening allows, including outreach to migrant farm workers and nursing home residents.
  • Assistance with applications for social services such as housing and food assistance.

Subscribe to COVIDSupportVT Blog

Enter your email address to subscribe to receive notifications of new blog posts by email.


Need to Talk?

Call 2-1-1 (option #2) or 866-652-4636 (option #2) for free, confidential, one-on-one counseling. Our Support Counselors are available Monday – Friday. 

In Crisis? 

If you or someone you care for is experiencing thoughts of suicide or self-harm, you can: call the National Suicide Prevention Hotline at 1-800-273-825; text VT to 741741 to connect with a Crisis Counselor 24/7; connect with your local community mental health center for 24/7 support. 

Find Help

Find resources and tools for coping with stress at www.COVIDSupportVT.org. Follow COVID Support VT on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram. And to stay up-to-date, sign up for our newsletter and blog.

Learn about upcoming Wellness Workshops from COVID Support VT, and Town Halls we’re hosting in partnership with community organizations.

One-click translation to 100 languages of most everything on the COVIDSupportVT.org website, plus Multilingual Resources & downloadable materials in 10 languages common to Vermont’s New American immigrant and refugee communities. 

Find your local community mental health center by visiting Vermont Care Partners.

COVID Support VT is funded by the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration and Federal Emergency Management Agency, managed by Vermont’s Department of Mental Health, and administered by Vermont Care Partners, a statewide network of 16 non-profit community-based agencies providing mental health, substance use, and intellectual and developmental disability services and supports. 

Share This