تقدم الولاية 7 نصائح للتحدث مع شخص ما عن التطعيم

هل أنت قلق بشأن أحد أفراد أسرتك غير المطعمين؟ هل أنت غير متأكد من كيفية بدء محادثة حول التطعيم؟ تريد المساعدة ولكن لست متأكدا كيف؟ يقدم أفضل طبيب في ولاية فيرمونت بعض النصائح. 

معدل التطعيم ضد كوفيد في فيرمونت ، غير مسبوق على المستوى الوطني ولا يزال يرتفع ببطء صنع التاريخ. اعتبارًا من 8 يوليو ، تلقى 82.5 بالمائة من Vermonters 12 وما فوق المؤهلة جرعة لقاح واحدة على الأقل. هذا هو أعلى معدل في البلاد. لكن الدولة لا تتوقف عند هذا الحد. يحث مسؤولو الصحة فيرمونتيرز على التحدث إلى الأشخاص الذين قاوموا التطعيم.

ليفين: معدل التطعيم يجعل فيرمونت المكان الأكثر أمانًا في البلاد

قال مارك ليفين ، العضو المنتدب ، مفوض الصحة في ولاية فيرمونت ، في مؤتمر صحفي يوم 6 يوليو: "شهدت ولاية فيرمونتس والأمة مؤخرًا ما قد يكون أنجح حملة تطعيم على مستوى السكان في تاريخ البلاد ، وقد حقق نجاحنا في التطعيم هنا في فيرمونت جعل دولتنا المكان الأكثر أمانًا في البلاد ويمكن القول في العالم ". 

على الرغم من هذا النجاح ، أعرب ليفين عن قلقه بشأن أقل من 18 في المائة من سكان فيرمونترز المؤهلين الذين لم يتم تطعيمهم بعد. وقال إن ذلك لأن 99 في المائة من الوفيات الناجمة عن كوفيد تحدث في غير الملقحين. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، فإن متغير دلتا الأكثر ضراوة ، والذي يرتبط بنتائج أسوأ في المملكة المتحدة ، ينتشر الآن على نطاق واسع في أمريكا. قال ليفين: "ستكون غالبية الحالات الجديدة في فيرمونت في مجموعات من الأشخاص غير الملقحين".

لماذا يتردد بعض الناس في التطعيم؟

من المهم أن ندرك أنه قد يكون لدى الأشخاص أسباب واضحة للتردد بشأن التطعيمات. تناولت إميلي ك.برونسون ، الأستاذة المساعدة في جامعة ولاية تكساس ، الأسباب المختلفة في أ سؤال وجواب حول تردد اللقاح نشرته الأكاديميات الوطنية للعلوم والهندسة والطب. قال برونسون: "تشمل المخاوف الشائعة مدى سرعة تطوير لقاحات COVID وما إذا كانت آمنة". لقد تبنى الكثير من الناس موقف "انتظر لترى" ردًا على هذه المخاوف. لدى البعض الآخر أسئلة تقنية ، بما في ذلك ما إذا كان ينبغي تطعيمهم إذا كان لديهم بالفعل COVID ، وما إذا كانت اللقاحات ستكون فعالة ضد سلالات مختلفة ، وكيف سنعرف ما إذا كانت آمنة للأطفال. "

أكد برونسون أنه في بعض الحالات ، يصاحب هذه الأسئلة عدم ثقة في الطب والصحة العامة والحكومة بشكل عام. "في المجتمعات الملونة ، يمكننا تتبع انعدام الثقة هذا إلى تاريخ من الإهمال والاستغلال على أيدي مقدمي الرعاية الصحية والحكومة ، بالإضافة إلى تجارب الأشخاص الأخيرة والشخصية مع عدم المساواة الهيكلية في الصحة العامة والطب والخدمات الاجتماعية ، قالت.

انفتاح للأحباء للتأثير على المتردد

في فيرمونت ، قال مفوض الصحة إن غير الملقحين في الغالب تتراوح أعمارهم بين 18 و 40 عامًا. أقل من خمسة في المائة ليس لديهم نية للتطعيم. أما الباقون فهم في فئة "الانتظار والترقب" ، أو قلقون بشأن فقدان العمل ، أو أنهم لم يعطوا الأولوية للتطعيم. وقال إن هذا يترك فرصة للأحباء للتدخل.

قال ليفين: "لدينا جميعًا دور نلعبه في الوصول إلى أولئك الذين لم يتم تطعيمهم بعد". "نحن نفهم من القصص ونختبر التأثير الذي يمكن أن يكون للأصدقاء والعائلة."

كيف تتحدث مع شخص ما عن التطعيم

قدم ليفين عددًا من الطرق التي يمكن لأفراد الأسرة من خلالها التواصل مع أحبائهم ، خاصةً إذا كنت والدًا لجد.

  • تحدث. حتى لو كان الأمر محرجًا أو غير مريح ، فابحث عن طريقة لفتح الباب أمام محادثة محترمة وصريحة. 
  • تعلم ، لا تحاضر. لا تأخذ دورك على أنه ضرورة لإقناعهم. بدلاً من ذلك ، فكر في دورك على أنه اكتشاف سبب عدم تلقيحهم. 
  • اسأل واستمع. اطرح أسئلة مفتوحة ، واستمع حقًا إلى أسبابهم بطريقة تعاطفية وغير قضائية. 
  • تحقق من مصادرهم. حدد ما إذا كانوا يستخدمون مصادر موثوقة للمعلومات. اسأل عما إذا كان يمكنك مشاركة ما تعتبره مصادر معلومات أكثر موثوقية معهم.
  • كلام دوك؟ اكتشف ما إذا كانوا قد تحدثوا إلى أحد مقدمي الرعاية الصحية حول أي مخاوف لديهم. 
  • تعرض مساعدات. ساعدهم في العثور على عيادة أو صيدلية أو حدث تطعيم بالقرب منهم. اعرض وسائل النقل أو رعاية الأطفال إذا كانت هذه حواجز. 

قال ليفين: "إنني أدرك أن هذه المحادثات ليست دائمًا سهلة ، لكن تأثيرك يعني على الأرجح أكثر مما تعرف". "ما زلنا ملتزمين بتلقيح أكبر عدد ممكن من لقاحات فيرمونتس حتى نتمكن من إنقاذ المزيد من الأرواح والمعاناة ، وبالتالي يمكننا الحفاظ على جدار حماية قوي للمضي قدمًا في فصلي الخريف والشتاء."

تعرف على المزيد وابحث عن الموارد

يقدم مركز السيطرة على الأمراض إرشادات لـ كيف تتحدث عن لقاحات Covid-19 مع الأصدقاء والعائلة على موقعها على الانترنت.

لمعرفة المزيد حول سبب مقاومة الناس للتطعيم ، اقرأ محاربة تردد اللقاح: ما الذي يمكن أن نتعلمه من العلوم الاجتماعية؟ من الأكاديميات الوطنية للعلوم والهندسة والطب.

عرض مفاتيح نجاح لقاح Covid-19: الثقة والمؤسسة الصحية في US News & World Report ، الذي يتناول نجاح Vermont. اعثر على أحدث الإحصائيات والمعلومات حول برنامج التطعيم في Vermont في الولاية لوحة معلومات لقاح كوفيد -19.

مشاهدة المفوض الصحي تصريحات مارك ليفين في المؤتمر الصحفي الأسبوعي للحاكم حول كوفيد في يوليو شنومكس.

اشترك في مدونة COVIDSupportVT

أدخل عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني للاشتراك لتلقي إشعارات منشورات المدونة الجديدة عبر البريد الإلكتروني.


نحتاج للتحدث؟

اتصل بالرقم 2-1-1 (الخيار رقم 2) أو 866-652-4636 (الخيار رقم 2) للحصول على استشارة مجانية وسرية وجها لوجه. مستشارو الدعم لدينا متاحون من الاثنين إلى الجمعة. 

في أزمة؟ 

إذا كنت أنت أو أي شخص تهتم به يعاني من أفكار الانتحار أو إيذاء النفس ، فيمكنك: الاتصال بالخط الساخن الوطني لمنع الانتحار على الرقم 1-800-273-825 ؛ أرسل VT إلى 741741 للتواصل مع مستشار الأزمات على مدار الساعة ؛ متصل مع مركز الصحة النفسية في المجتمع المحلي للحصول على دعم على مدار الساعة طوال أيام الأسبوع. 

الحصول على المساعدة

ابحث عن الموارد والأدوات للتعامل مع التوتر في www.COVIDSupportVT.org. اتبع COVID Support VT على تويتر, فيس بوك و انستجرام. ولمواكبة آخر المستجدات ، اشترك في موقعنا نشرتنا الإخبارية و المدونة.

تعرف على المستقبل ورش عمل العافية من COVID Support VT و قاعات المدينة نحن نستضيف بالشراكة مع منظمات المجتمع.

بنقرة واحدة ترجمة إلى 100 لغة لمعظم كل شيء على COVIDSupportVT.org موقع ويب زائد موارد متعددة اللغات ومواد قابلة للتنزيل بعشر لغات مشتركة بين المهاجرين واللاجئين الأمريكيين الجدد في ولاية فيرمونت. 

ابحث عن مركز الصحة النفسية المجتمعي المحلي لديك من خلال زيارة شركاء فيرمونت كير.

يتم تمويل COVID Support VT من قبل إدارة خدمات إساءة استخدام العقاقير والصحة العقلية والوكالة الفيدرالية لإدارة الطوارئ ، التي تديرها إدارة الصحة العقلية في فيرمونت ، وتدار من قبل شركاء فيرمونت كير، شبكة على مستوى الولاية مكونة من 16 وكالة مجتمعية غير ربحية تقدم خدمات الصحة العقلية وتعاطي المخدرات والإعاقة الذهنية والتنموية ودعمها. 

شارك هذا

State Offers 7 Tips for Talking to Someone About Vaccination

Are you concerned about an unvaccinated loved one? Are you unsure how to start a conversation about vaccination? Want to help but not sure how? Vermont’s top doctor has some advice. 

Vermont’s Covid vaccination rate, unsurpassed nationally and still slowly rising, is making history. As of July 8, 82.5 percent of eligible Vermonters 12 and older had received at least one vaccine dose. That’s the highest rate in the country. But the state isn’t stopping there. Health officials are urging Vermonters to talk to folks who have resisted vaccination.

Levine: Vaccination Rate Makes Vermont Safest Place in Country

Mark Levine, M.D., Vermont’s commissioner of health, said at a press briefing July 6: “Vermonters and the nation have recently witnessed what is probably the most successful population-wide vaccination campaign in the nation’s history, Our success with vaccination here in Vermont has made our state the safest place to be in the country and arguably the world.” 

Despite that success, Levine expressed concern about the less than 18 percent of eligible Vermonters who have yet to be vaccinated. That’s because 99 percent of deaths from Covid occur in the unvaccinated, he said. In addition, the more virulent Delta variant, which is associated with worse outcomes in the UK, is now circulating widely in America. “The majority of new cases in Vermont will be in groups of unvaccinated people,” Levine said.

Why Are Some People Hesitant about Vaccination?

It’s important to realize that people may have distinct reasons for being hesitant about vaccinations. Emily K. Brunson, associate professor at Texas State University, addressed the various reasons in a Q&A on vaccine hesitancy published by the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine. “Common concerns include how quickly the COVID vaccines were developed and if they are safe,” Brunson said. “Many people have adopted a ‘wait and see’ attitude in response to these concerns. Others have technical questions including if they should be vaccinated if they’ve already had COVID, if the vaccines will be effective against different strains, and how we will know if they’re safe for children.”

Brunson emphasized that in some cases, these questions are accompanied by a mistrust of medicine, public health, and government more generally. “In communities of color, we can trace this mistrust back to a history of neglect and exploitation at the hands of health care providers and government, as well as people’s recent and personal experiences with structural inequities in public health, medicine, and social services,” she said.

An Opening for Loved Ones to Influence the Hesitant

In Vermont, the health commissioner said the unvaccinated are mostly in the 18-to-40 age range. Well under five percent have no intention of getting vaccinated. The remainder are in the “wait-and-see” category, are concerned about missing work, or have just not prioritized vaccination. That, he said, leaves an opening for loved ones to step in.

“All of us have a part to play in reaching those who have yet to be vaccinated,” Levine said. “We understand from stories and experience the influence that friends and family can have.”

How to Talk With Someone About Vaccination

Levine offered a number of ways family members can reach out to loved ones, especially if you are a parent of grandparent.

  • Have the talk. Even if it’s awkward or uncomfortable, find a way to open the door to respectful, candid conversation. 
  • Learn, don’t lecture. Don’t take your role as having to convince them. Rather, think of your role as finding out the reason that they remain unvaccinated. 
  • Ask and listen. Ask open-ended questions, and truly listen to their reasons in an empathetic and nonjudgmental way. 
  • Check their sources. Determine if they’re using reliable sources of information. Ask if you can share what you consider to be more reliable sources of information with them.
  • Doc talk? Find out if they’ve talked to a healthcare provider about any concerns they’ve had. 
  • Offer Assistance. Help them find a clinic, pharmacy or vaccination event near them. Offer transportation or child care if those are barriers. 

“I realize these conversations aren’t always easy, but your influence likely means more than you know,” Levine said. “We are still committed to getting as many Vermonters vaccinated as possible so we can save more lives and hardship, and so we can maintain a strong wall of protection moving forward into the fall and winter.”

Learn More and Find Resources

The CDC offers guidelines for How to talk about Covid-19 vaccines with friends and family on its website.

To learn more about why people resist vaccination, read Fighting Vaccine Hesitancy: What Can We Learn From Social Science? from the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine.

Read Keys to Covid-19 Vaccine Success: Trust and a Healthy Foundation in US News & World Report, which addresses Vermont’s success.Find up-to-date statistics and information on Vermont’s vaccination program at the state’s Covid-19 Vaccine Dashboard.

Watch Health Commissioner’s Mark Levine’s remarks at the Governor’s weekly Covid press briefing on July 6.

Subscribe to COVIDSupportVT Blog

Enter your email address to subscribe to receive notifications of new blog posts by email.


Need to Talk?

Call 2-1-1 (option #2) or 866-652-4636 (option #2) for free, confidential, one-on-one counseling. Our Support Counselors are available Monday – Friday. 

In Crisis? 

If you or someone you care for is experiencing thoughts of suicide or self-harm, you can: call the National Suicide Prevention Hotline at 1-800-273-825; text VT to 741741 to connect with a Crisis Counselor 24/7; connect with your local community mental health center for 24/7 support. 

Find Help

Find resources and tools for coping with stress at www.COVIDSupportVT.org. Follow COVID Support VT on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram. And to stay up-to-date, sign up for our newsletter and blog.

Learn about upcoming Wellness Workshops from COVID Support VT, and Town Halls we’re hosting in partnership with community organizations.

One-click translation to 100 languages of most everything on the COVIDSupportVT.org website, plus Multilingual Resources & downloadable materials in 10 languages common to Vermont’s New American immigrant and refugee communities. 

Find your local community mental health center by visiting Vermont Care Partners.

COVID Support VT is funded by the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration and Federal Emergency Management Agency, managed by Vermont’s Department of Mental Health, and administered by Vermont Care Partners, a statewide network of 16 non-profit community-based agencies providing mental health, substance use, and intellectual and developmental disability services and supports. 

We appreciate your feedback
We want to know a little bit about you and your experiences and to learn what you think about our website. It will only take a few minutes and is much appreciated. Thank you.
We appreciate your feedback
We want to know a little bit about you and your experiences and to learn what you think about our website. It will only take a few minutes and is much appreciated. Thank you.
Share This