يعتقد الطبيب النفسي للأطفال في UVM أن الطب النفسي الإيجابي يمكن أن ينقذ الأرواح 

عندما يتحدث الناس عن منع الانتحار ، فإنهم لا يتحدثون بشكل عام عن العافية. من المحتمل أن يتحدثوا عن الوسائل القاتلة ، أو الحاجة إلى التدخل الفوري في الأزمات. سيتحدثون عن أهمية سؤال شخص ما بشكل مباشر عما إذا كان يفكر في قتل نفسه. كل من هذه الاستراتيجيات أثبتت فعاليتها للحد من الوفيات الناجمة عن الانتحار. لكن ماذا عن العافية؟ هل تعزيز الرفاه العام له دور في منع الانتحار؟

سبتمبر هو الشهر الوطني لمنع الانتحار. معرفة المزيد هنا.

David C. Rettew ، MD ، هو الشخص الذي يعتقد أنه يفعل ذلك. في خطابه الرئيسي في ندوة منع الانتحار في فيرمونت ، أوضح الطبيب النفسي للأطفال والمراهقين في UVM أن مبادئ وممارسات "الطب النفسي الإيجابي" تلعب دورًا كبيرًا في التخفيف من أزمة الانتحار التي تجتاح ولاية فيرمونت والأمة. 

"الصحة العقلية الحقيقية هي أكثر من مجرد عدم وجود مرض" ، قال ريتو ، وهو أيضًا المدير الطبي لقسم الأطفال في إدارة الصحة في فيرمونت. "إذا كنا نريد حقًا مساعدة الناس ، فعلينا أن نفعل أكثر من مجرد إزالة الأشياء السلبية. إنه الفرق بين عدم الشعور بالاكتئاب والشعور بالسعادة والرفاهية ".

تسخير مبادئ العافية لمنع الانتحار

يؤكد المجال الناشئ للطب النفسي الإيجابي - ثمرة علم النفس الإيجابي - على العناصر العالمية للرفاهية. هذه المبادئ المعروفة باختصار PERMA قابلة للتطبيق على الجميع ، بغض النظر عن حالة الصحة العقلية. يرمز PERMA إلى:

  • المشاعر الايجابية: الشعور بالفرح ، السعادة ، التعاطف ، اللطف 
  • هدايا الخطوبة: الانخراط بنشاط في شيء يخلق الفرح أو السعادة
  • العلاقات: إقامة علاقات قوية مع الآخرين
  • معنى: إيجاد إحساس بالهدف في حياة المرء
  • الإنجازات: تحديد الأهداف واتخاذ خطوات إلى الأمام.

تكشف البيانات الجديدة الخاصة بولاية فيرمونت من المسح الوطني لسلوك مخاطر الشباب عن أهمية هذه الأنواع من التأثيرات الإيجابية على حياة الأطفال. الشباب الذين أبلغوا عن شعورهم بأنهم مهمون ، أو الذين تناولوا العشاء كعائلة ، أو الذين لديهم شخص بالغ موثوق به في حياتهم وشعروا أنه يمكنهم التحدث معه بصراحة ، كانت لديهم فرصة أقل بنسبة 30 إلى 70 في المائة للوفاة عن طريق الانتحار. كل عامل يقلل من المخاطر بشكل فردي ، وكان لعوامل متعددة تأثير تراكمي.

تعزيز عوامل الحماية لأدمغة وأجسام صحية

يستنكر ريتيو فكرة أن التركيز على الرفاه الإيجابي يُنظر إليه على أنه "هامشي" ، لا سيما فيما يتعلق بالأطفال. قال "نحن لا نتحدث عن بلورات هنا". "ولكن فيما يتعلق بالعروض الترويجية الصحية التي لا تبني أجسامًا صحية فحسب ، بل أيضًا أدمغة صحية." النوم هو أحد الأمثلة. تشير الأبحاث المتزايدة إلى أهمية النوم الجيد للصحة العقلية الجيدة. وجدت إحدى الدراسات التي أجريت على 60,000 من المحاربين القدامى أن خطر الانتحار خمسة أضعاف بين أولئك الذين يعانون من الأرق. 

قال ريتو: "هناك شيء نعرفه يمكن أن يساعد في تحسين الصحة العقلية لدى الأشخاص الذين لا يعانون ويمكن أن يساعد أيضًا أولئك الذين يعانون". "نفتقد ذلك أحيانًا. نعتقد أن التأمل واليوغا مخصصان فقط للأشخاص الجميلين على الشاطئ ".

كيف يمكن للوالدين استخدام مبادئ الطب النفسي الإيجابي لمساعدة أطفالهم الذين قد يعانون؟ "فكر في الأشياء ليس فقط ليس للقيام - مثل الحد من الوصول إلى الوسائل القاتلة - ولكن أيضًا ابحث عن الأشياء التي يجب التحرك نحوها ". قدم خمسة مبادئ توجيهية عامة للآباء والبالغين الموثوق بهم.

  • قم بعمل ما مع الأطفال للتواصل والتفاعل معهم. 
  • كن نموذجًا للسلوكيات التي تحاول إضفاءها على الآخرين في حياتك الخاصة.
  • اهتم بصحتك العقلية ، واشرح لأطفالك استراتيجيات التكيف الخاصة بك.
  • حاول أن تكون أبويًا بشكل متعمد وعقلي ، مع تفاعل أقل.
  • استخدم مناهج الأبوة والأمومة الإيجابية التي تؤكد على الدفء والتشجيع والإشراف المناسب.

اجعل العافية شأنًا عائليًا

يوصي ريتو أيضًا بوضع خطة عافية للعائلة تقوم فيها الأسرة ، كمجموعة ، بتقييم استراتيجيات التأقلم الخاصة بهم وتحديد أهداف للأنشطة اليومية لتعزيز الرفاهية. قد يشمل ذلك أهدافًا للنشاط البدني أو تناول وجبات صحية معًا ، أو التعبير عن الامتنان للصفات التي نقدرها في شخص آخر. كن قدوة ، حتى لو كنت أنت ، بصفتك أحد الوالدين ، تكافح.

"أظهر للأشخاص الذين تحبهم وتهتم بهم أنه من المقبول ألا تكون على ما يرام. لا بأس في الاعتناء بصحتنا العقلية. يمكن أن يكون هذا خطوة كبيرة نحو منع وصمة العار المتعلقة بالصحة العقلية ".

~ ديفيد ريتيو ، طبيب نفسي للأطفال / المراهقين في UVM

قال ريتو إن الطب النفسي الإيجابي يتبنى نهجًا أكثر شمولية لرعاية الأطفال ، وعلى هذا النحو ، لديه الكثير ليقدمه في مجال منع الانتحار. "هذا ليس لتقليل مجالات أخرى من أعمال الوقاية من الانتحار ، ولكن لاستكمالها بعملنا الخاص بتحويل الناس من" ليسوا مرضى "إلى السعادة والسعادة."

تعرف على المزيد وابحث عن الموارد

شركاء فيرمونت كير يستضيف شبكة على مستوى الولاية من فصول الإسعافات الأولية للصحة العقلية للبالغين والشباب والمراهقين. 

أفضل مركز الصحة والتعلم ، الذي ينسق ندوة فيرمونت لمنع الانتحار وبرنامج UMatters للوقاية من الانتحار ، من بين مبادرات أخرى.

يقدم قسم الصحة العقلية في فيرمونت موارد منع الانتحار والمعلومات.

عرض ماذا تفعل إذا كنت قلقًا بشأن الانتحار: دليل الوالدين لمساعدة طفل في محنةمن معهد تشايلد مايند.

إذا كنت قلقًا بشأن طفلك ، فراجع أيضًا مدقق الأعراض من معهد تشايلد مايند ، والذي يمكن أن يساعد في تحديد علامات الاضطرابات النفسية أو اضطرابات التعلم وإرشادك إلى الخطوات التالية.

البحث موارد منع الانتحار للآباء والعائلات في مستشفى نيشن وايد للأطفال ، بما في ذلك المقالات التالية:

للأطفال: الوقوف في وجه الإجهاد! هو كتاب تلوين وأنشطة للأطفال من سن 8 إلى 12 عامًا ، من المعهد الوطني للصحة العقلية. يعلم كتاب التلوين والأنشطة هذا المجاني القابل للطباعة الأطفال عن التوتر والقلق ويقدم نصائح للتأقلم بطريقة صحية.

اشترك في مدونة COVIDSupportVT

أدخل عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني للاشتراك لتلقي إشعارات منشورات المدونة الجديدة عبر البريد الإلكتروني.


نحتاج للتحدث؟

اتصل بالرقم 2-1-1 (الخيار رقم 2) أو 866-652-4636 (الخيار رقم 2) للحصول على استشارة مجانية وسرية وجها لوجه. مستشارو الدعم لدينا متاحون من الاثنين إلى الجمعة. 

في أزمة؟ 

إذا كنت أنت أو أي شخص تهتم به يعاني من أفكار الانتحار أو إيذاء النفس ، فيمكنك: الاتصال بالخط الساخن الوطني لمنع الانتحار على الرقم 1-800-273-825 ؛ أرسل VT إلى 741741 للتواصل مع مستشار الأزمات على مدار الساعة ؛ متصل مع مركز الصحة النفسية في المجتمع المحلي للحصول على دعم على مدار الساعة طوال أيام الأسبوع. 

الحصول على المساعدة

ابحث عن الموارد والأدوات للتعامل مع التوتر في www.COVIDSupportVT.org. اتبع COVID Support VT على تويتر, فيس بوك و انستجرام. ولمواكبة آخر المستجدات ، اشترك في موقعنا نشرتنا الإخبارية و المدونة.

تعرف على المستقبل ورش عمل العافية من COVID Support VT و قاعات المدينة نحن نستضيف بالشراكة مع منظمات المجتمع.

بنقرة واحدة ترجمة إلى 100 لغة لمعظم كل شيء على COVIDSupportVT.org موقع ويب زائد موارد متعددة اللغات ومواد قابلة للتنزيل بعشر لغات مشتركة بين المهاجرين واللاجئين الأمريكيين الجدد في ولاية فيرمونت. 

ابحث عن مركز الصحة النفسية المجتمعي المحلي لديك من خلال زيارة شركاء فيرمونت كير.

يتم تمويل COVID Support VT من قبل إدارة خدمات إساءة استخدام العقاقير والصحة العقلية والوكالة الفيدرالية لإدارة الطوارئ ، التي تديرها إدارة الصحة العقلية في فيرمونت ، وتدار من قبل شركاء فيرمونت كير، شبكة على مستوى الولاية مكونة من 16 وكالة مجتمعية غير ربحية تقدم خدمات الصحة العقلية وتعاطي المخدرات والإعاقة الذهنية والتنموية ودعمها. 

شارك هذا

UVM Child Psychiatrist Believes Positive Psychiatry Can Save Lives 

When people talk about suicide prevention, they don’t generally talk about wellness. They’re likely to talk about lethal means, or the need for immediate crisis intervention. They’ll talk about the importance of asking someone directly if they’re thinking of killing themselves. Each of these are proven strategies to reduce suicide deaths. But what about wellness? Does promoting general well-being have a role in suicide prevention?

September is National Suicide Prevention Month. Find out more here.

David C. Rettew, M.D., is one who believes it does. In his keynote address at the Vermont Suicide Prevention Symposium, the UVM child and adolescent psychiatrist made the case that the principles and practices of “positive psychiatry” have a big role to play in mitigating the suicide crisis engulfing Vermont and the nation. 

“True mental health is more than just the absence of illness,” said Rettew, who is also medical director of the Children’s Division at the Vermont Department of Health. “If we really want to help people, we have to do more than just remove the negative things. It’s the difference between not being depressed and experiencing happiness and well-being.”

Harnessing Wellness Principles for Suicide Prevention

The emerging field of positive psychiatry — an outgrowth of positive psychology — emphasizes universal elements of well-being. Known by the acronym PERMA, these principles are applicable to everyone, regardless of mental health status. PERMA stands for:

  • Positive emotions: feeling joy, happiness, empathy, kindness 
  • Engagement: being actively engaged in something that creates joy or happiness
  • Relationships: having and holding strong connections with other people
  • Meaning: finding a sense of purpose in one’s life
  • Accomplishments: setting goals and taking steps forward.

Brand new Vermont-specific data from the national Youth Risk Behavior Survey reveals the importance of these kinds of positive influences on children’s lives. Youth who reported feeling like they mattered, who ate dinner as a family, or who had a trusted adult in their lives with whom they felt they could talk openly had a 30 to 70 percent less chance of dying by suicide. Each factor reduced the risk individually, and multiple factors had a cumulative effect.

Promoting Protective Factors for Healthy Brains and Bodies

Rettew decries the notion that a focus on positive well-being is seen as “fringey,” particularly with regard to children. “We’re not talking about crystals here,” he said. “But about health promotions that not only build healthy bodies but also healthy brains.” Sleep is one example. Growing research points to the importance of quality sleep to good mental health. One study of 60,000 veterans found a five-fold risk of suicide among those with insomnia. 

“Something we know can help improve mental health in people who are not struggling can also help those who are,” Rettew said. “We miss that sometimes. We think that meditation and yoga are just for beautiful people on the beach.”

How can parents use the principles of positive psychiatry to help their kids who may be struggling? “Think of things not only not to do – like reducing access to lethal means – but also look for things to move toward.” He offered five general guidelines for parents and trusted adults.

  • Do something with children to connect and engage with them. 
  • Model the behaviors you’re trying to bestow on others in your own life.
  • Attend to your own mental health, and explain your own coping strategies to your kids.
  • Try to parent deliberately and mindfully, with less reactivity.
  • Use positive parenting approaches that emphasize warmth, encouragement, and appropriate supervision.

Make Wellness a Family Affair

Rettew also recommends having a family wellness plan in which the family, as a group, assesses their coping strategies and sets goals for daily activities to promote well-being. These might include goals for physical activity or having healthy meals together, or expressing gratitude for the qualities we appreciate in another. Set an example, even if you yourself, as a parent, are struggling.

“Show the people you love and care about that it’s okay to not be okay. That it’s okay to tend to our own mental health. This can be a big step toward preventing stigma around mental health.”

~ David Rettew, M.D., UVM Child/Adolescent Psychiatrist

Positive psychiatry embraces a more holistic approach to child care, Rettew said, and as such, has a lot to offer the field of suicide prevention. “That’s not to diminish other areas of suicide prevention work, but to complement them with our own work of getting people from ‘not ill’ to well and happy.”

Learn More and Find Resources

Vermont Care Partners hosts a statewide network of Mental Health First Aid classes for adults, youth and teens. 

The Center for Health and Learning, which coordinates the Vermont Suicide Prevention Symposium and the UMatters suicide prevention program, among other initiatives.

The Vermont Department of Mental Health offers suicide prevention resources and information.

Read What To Do if You’re Worried About Suicide: A parent’s guide to helping a child in distress, from the Child Mind Institute.

If you are worried about your child, also see the Symptom Checker from the Child Mind Institute, which can help identify signs of psychiatric or learning disorders and guide you to next steps.

Find Suicide Prevention Resources for parents and families at Nationwide Children’s Hospital, including these articles:

For Kids: Stand Up to Stress! is a coloring and activity book for kids ages 8-12, from the National Institute for Mental Health. This free, printable coloring and activity book teaches children about stress and anxiety and offers tips for coping in a healthy way.

Subscribe to COVIDSupportVT Blog

Enter your email address to subscribe to receive notifications of new blog posts by email.


Need to Talk?

Call 2-1-1 (option #2) or 866-652-4636 (option #2) for free, confidential, one-on-one counseling. Our Support Counselors are available Monday – Friday. 

In Crisis? 

If you or someone you care for is experiencing thoughts of suicide or self-harm, you can: call the National Suicide Prevention Hotline at 1-800-273-825; text VT to 741741 to connect with a Crisis Counselor 24/7; connect with your local community mental health center for 24/7 support. 

Find Help

Find resources and tools for coping with stress at www.COVIDSupportVT.org. Follow COVID Support VT on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram. And to stay up-to-date, sign up for our newsletter and blog.

Learn about upcoming Wellness Workshops from COVID Support VT, and Town Halls we’re hosting in partnership with community organizations.

One-click translation to 100 languages of most everything on the COVIDSupportVT.org website, plus Multilingual Resources & downloadable materials in 10 languages common to Vermont’s New American immigrant and refugee communities. 

Find your local community mental health center by visiting Vermont Care Partners.

COVID Support VT is funded by the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration and Federal Emergency Management Agency, managed by Vermont’s Department of Mental Health, and administered by Vermont Care Partners, a statewide network of 16 non-profit community-based agencies providing mental health, substance use, and intellectual and developmental disability services and supports. 

Share This